Home     Sitemap      Contact Us     Jobs
Warrenton Homepage

The North Carolina League of Municipalities' Local Leadership Foundation has recognized the Town of Warrenton with an award for its collaboration efforts with Warren County and Research Triangle Foundation on Frontier Warren.  

"This award recognizes a city or town that proactively partnered with another county, state, or federal agency and/or the private sector to achieve a successful outcome felt at the municipal level.  The best examples would include projects that leveraged the strengths of each agency in a mutually beneficial and strategic partnership."


A copy of the award announcement may be downloaded



North Carolina Main Street has recognized Warrenton with an award of merit for the renovation of Town Hall. 


Town Hall is a 1907-8 structure and one of the most architecturally significant commercial structures in Warrenton.  An excerpt from the original 1976 Historic District Application reads: “a red brick building, two stories high, has arched openings with contrasting trim; the first-level openings are segmental-arched, the second-level ones round-arched with keystones. The four-bay main (north) façade has a two-bay pavilion with a simple shallow pediment. At the second level, the bays are defined by corbeling into panels.  Insurance maps show the multi-use of the building, which had not only the city hall offices but also a fire department, opera house, and market.”

Vacant for six years with a flight of pigeons roosting inside, the structure had been abandoned for several years.  Working with Belk Architecture of Durham, NC, the internal structure of the building was redesigned to accommodate offices and meeting space for administration and public works departments and Board of Commissioners. 


Image of Award




Preservation North Carolina Annual Awards Gertrude S. Carraway Awards of Merit

The Gertrude S. Carraway Awards of Merit are named in honor of the late Dr. Gertrude S. Carraway, a noted New Bern historian and preservationist. Presented since 1974, a maximum of twelve awards are given each year. The Awards of Merit give deserved recognition to individuals or organizations that have demonstrated a genuine commitment to historic preservation through extraordinary leadership, research, philanthropy, promotion, and/or significant participation in preservation.

Video of Awards from Preservation NC

Official Web Site of Town of Warrenton, NC. Copyright 2021. All Rights Reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM